My Best Friend

Hands down, my best friend in all the world is my daughter, Kaitlyn.  Being a single mom for a long time, she and I have had lots of time to bond with each other and come to understand and totally get each other.  Our minds are like one a lot of the time, to the point where we will blurt out what is thinking – she has an expression for this: Mind Ninja.  Did I mention she is brilliant and creative too?!

I know I have written about this before, but when she left for college last year, it was really, really hard for me.  Probably for her too, but we’re talking about me right now (giggle)!  Every single day there were little reminders which made me miss her more.  A book, something the cats did, a pause fail on Netflix or a song.  Good lord, the minute I hear Lifehouse’s “From Where You Are” or John Mayer’s “Stop This Train” the tears start gushing.  It’s all of the little things that accumulate over the course of the day.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not one of those freaky parents that will install surveillance gear on her computer or show up to her class with her lunch box.  And of course we driver each other bat s**t crazy sometimes too, but on the whole she is the first person I will share good news with and the first person on whose should I would cry if I needed a friend.  For all of my other failings as a parent, I hope that the love and bond we share more than makes up for it.  I know it has made my life rewarding beyond words.  I love you Kaitlyn 🙂

One thought on “My Best Friend

Please Leave a Reply

