Santa Ynez Valley

Foxen Canyon

Now living in the northwest suburbs of Chicago, I have many occasions where I miss my “home.”  I grew up in Santa Barbara, California and there were many weekends where my parents would pack all 6 of us kids into the back of the Esquire station wagon and drive us kicking and screaming into the Santa Ynez Valley.  We gnashed our teeth and muttered our displeasure under our breath about having to go “again!”

However, now that I am an adult and have moved and lived hitcher and thither, I find I truly miss my home.  I miss that I cannot get into the car on the weekend and take a drive to Solvang or Figueroa Mountain.  I miss that I cannot even look out the window and see mountains!  While Illinois is beautiful in its own way, it still feels like it should only be a temporary stop before I come full circle and land back in California.

3 thoughts on “Santa Ynez Valley

      1. M_Zeissler says:

        Only you can determine that, but be advised — whatever you do, don’t stay at the Motel 6 in Rockford. We still get the heebie-jeebies from our stay at that wretched place.

Please Leave a Reply

