Moment of Kindness: Do I Suck?

Today’s prompt asks us to describe a moment of kindness between me and someone else.  Frankly, I cannot think of any, at all and it is rather upsetting!  I know I am not an unkind person.  I know I would and have helped people who are in immanent need.  However, I am at a total loss to singling out a specific incident that stands out among the rest.

I don’t think this is a function of me being a jerk, because I am not (yea, I know, all jerks say that).  I am very empathetic to the human condition and it physically pains me to see another human hurting.  But I am stunned that I am not able to recall any specific incident where I showed kindness to another person.  I have run to the aid of people who have fallen down.  I have gone out of my way to provide my information when I have witnessed accidents.  I have helped neighbors with their cats and family with their bills.  But there has been no magnanimous event of particular note that sticks out in my mind.

This troubles me, now that I am thinking about it.  I almost feel like I suck as a human because I can’t think of anything.  Maybe I am not really as kind as I thought I was?  Does the absence of being a jerk to people automatically default me into the “kind” category?  Or do all of the little good deeds accumulate over a lifetime to deem a person as “kind?”

Even sadder than that is that the kindnesses that does stick out for me are ones that involve not people, but animals.  About a week or so ago, my husband and I were driving back from grocery shopping.  As we entered our development, I noticed a medium sized turtle crawling its way straight towards the road.  Fearing for the life of this helpless creature, I pulled the car over, got out and grabbed it and had my husband drive us 100 yards to the closest pond so I could let it go where it would be safe.  I have actually done this on numerous occasions, with many different species, ever since I was able to walk.

Not that rescuing animals is any less kind.  However, as humans, we should be more kind to each other, right?  Perhaps this prompt is a subliminal message from my higher power to raise my consciousness and put forth a greater effort to more overtly demonstrate kindnesses to my fellow humans.

Raised awareness, check!

10 thoughts on “Moment of Kindness: Do I Suck?

  1. nanuschka says:

    ” I have run to the aid of people who have fallen down. I have gone out of my way to provide my information when I have witnessed accidents. I have helped neighbors with their cats and family with their bills” – these are all fantastic acts of kindness and I think you are being just a little too hard on yourself. Any act of kindness creates a ripple on someone else’s life. It does not need to be something huge, any act, no matter how small, counts. You are doing better than you think!

      1. nanuschka says:

        Yes, yes, yes! The unconscious acts, which we regard as “useless” are the true signs of our character. Always room for more, I agree

Please Leave a Reply

